15 Books for Lazy Readers

Don’t get me wrong, I love books which take a bit of time and effort to get into, they are always worth it; and, I love a book which keeps you guessing and makes you think. But sometimes, sometimes I don’t want to have to try when I’m reading. Sometimes, I just want to curl up in bed with a hot chocolate and not think too hard about what I’m doing.

In times like this, I usually turn to teenage fiction.

So, here is a list of 15 teenage fiction books which are totally suitable for adults too:

  1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling (do I even need to say). I obviously had to include this on the list, it’s a no-brainer. I’ve seen the films more times than I can count, I’ve read the books, I always come back for more.
  2. The Hobbit by the magnificent J.R.R. Tolkien. I want to envelope myself in the world of Middle Earth and never come out most days, so this is a given. I read this when I was younger and it’s altogether easier to swallow than Lord of the Rings, so I like it when I want to return to my happy place.
  3. The Whisper of Glocken by Carol Kendall. I once did a presentation on this book in my literature and sexuality module, but don’t let this fool you, it’s so PG and so lovely and I want it to become a film one day so I can fangirl over it more. There are so many layers to it that I could write a whole post on this book alone, but I will restrain and just end with how cosy and heart-warming it makes me feel.
  4. The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine is the first book that I ever really and truly fell in love with. My mum suggested I read it and at first I wasn’t convinced, but it has everything I love in it, and it taught me about being brave and breaking through people’s expectations of you.
  5. The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins is up there with one of the best written books ever. I think I read the whole series in two days and every word felt like it was so carefully chosen. It made me want to write and it made me want to write better. It isn’t the most relaxing book to read, it’s actually incredibly gripping and nerve-raking, even when you know the storyline, but I couldn’t leave it off this list.
  6. The Prophecy of the Gems was also a favourite of mine when I was younger, it’s a little cringe-worthy to read as an…older teenager, (no I will never admit I am an adult) but sometimes that’s exactly what you’re after.
  7. The Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella is probably the definition of an easy read for me. It’s a little predictable at times and there are quite a lot of other books out there which are similar. But, it is the perfect comfort book and none of my previous comments have stopped me from buying several of the books in the series and displaying them on my book shelf.
  8.  The House of Night series by mother and daughter duo P.C. Cast and Kristen Cast is weirdly addictive. I can’t explain why, because all of the components seem wrong, but they come together to form something I just can’t put down. It’s easy to read, and it keeps you on edge in a, oh I actually am pretty sure I know exactly what’s going to happen, kind of way. And I like it.
  9. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen is a serious book about some really grave subjects. Not only does she always cover relevant topics which are important to talk about, but it’s one of those stories which becomes happier the longer you read. I’m a sucker for a happy ending.
  10. The Fault in Our Stars and basically anything by John Green, I lap it up.
  11. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. Me and my younger brother collected all these books and I was addicted to the story. It opened my eyes to the fun and creativity that can be had being an author, and that you don’t have to stick to the traditional style of writing.
  12. Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series by Louise RennisonPutting the cringe-worthy film (actually another one of my guilty pleasures) to the side, these books are so good at lifting my spirits and making me laugh. They may be made for a younger audience, they may be at times cliché or a bit cringey, but I demolished these books when I was younger, and I still enjoy them today.
  13. Girl Online on Tour by Zoe Sugg. I read the first of these books on holiday when I wanted an easy read and I have just finished the second one and I have to say, I liked it more. Like her YouTube videos, they make me feel at home and warm and fuzzy.
  14. The Spiderwick Chronicles by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black. I think I loved these books so much- and still do- because I used to daydream about this sort of thing happening to me all the time. I love books which reveal that there are magical creatures living alongside us which we don’t know about, and it’s the perfect book to take you away.
  15. Going Postal by the legendary Terry Pratchett. I’ve put this at the end because I’m not convinced this is actually teen fiction at all, but it was on another teen fiction list so I took the chance to have him on my list. If you haven’t read anything by Pratchett yet, you’ve not been living. Going Postal is one of my favourites and he has a way of creating obscure and fantastic characters which draw you in. His story-lines are altogether serious and at the same time completely ridiculous.
Leave a Reply

