22

So I just turned 22 and I was inspired by a song that I have had on repeat recently (no, not Tay Tay) called 27 by Passenger. I just find his lyrics really honest and refreshing so I borrowed them. For me, 22 feels like it will be a big year and I felt like reflecting on 22 years of survival thus far!

22 years, 22 years old

Only thing I know, the only thing I get told

I gotta get a job before I get old

Don’t want to be left behind with nothing to my name

 

I write things that come from the heart

It really seems to keep me from falling apart

Only way I can be, is to try and be free

And have no shadow hanging over me

 

I don’t know what I’m fighting but I know how to fight

‘Cause, fighting’s the thing I’ve always done

I don’t know what I’m doing but I know what I’ve done

I’m a hungry heart, I’m a loaded gun

 

22 years, 22 years now,

Only thing I know, I know that I should not care

About pleasing everybody all of the time

‘Cause everybody’s always fucking changing their minds

 

A little bit faded, a little bit jaded

Don’t want to stop, won’t be persuaded

To get a job I don’t believe in,

To work just so I can have cash

 

22 years, 22 years done

Got 10 GCSE’s, only three get used

180,000 words of essays have been written by these hands

And every single day I wonder if I’ll ever use one

 

A week doubting myself and a week wanting something more

A year on the computer, I’m still confused when it breaks down

A whole year eating and I still want more fuck

5 groups of friends and 1 which has stuck

 

22 birthdays, 22 new years

Nearly 40 hours driving to get to grips with the gears

Ever dying old hopes, ever growing new fears

Don’t know where I’m going, but I know how I got here

 

I don’t know what I’m fighting but I know how to fight

‘Cause, fighting’s the thing I’ve always done

I don’t know what I’m doing but I know what I’ve done

I’m a hungry heart, I’m a loaded gun

Leave a Reply

