2015

2015 was a year of learning who I am, or at least who I want to be and I think 2016 will be the year I have to prove it.

Christmas and New Years always flies by for me, and then January is taken over with my little brothers and then my birthday, so I never really have time to reflect on the year behind me, until well into February. This hasn’t been helped by the fact that I have been without internet for over a month now (I’m really not sure how I coped).

A lot went on for me in 2015, a lot of demons which I never thought I would ever have to battle reared their ugly heads. Truthfully, I struggled a lot last year; I seriously doubted myself for the first time ever, I seriously doubted this life and my existence for the first time too. Not that these thoughts hadn’t crossed my mind before, they just lingered in my mind more often, and for much longer, than I would have liked.

Having said this, I think 2015 was probably one of the most important years of my life. I learnt a very important lesson: life sometimes dishes out a lot of crap and most of the time it is completely and utterly out of your control and it always destroys you. But I also learnt that you can get through that, I still am. It doesn’t matter to me how long it takes for me to recover from those wounds, the important thing is that I’m not going to give up.

Because, even though it was a tough year, I learnt that I am incredibly lucky and I have an awful lot of good in my life too. Plus, I got to figure out what the important things in life are.

So here are my very, very, delayed New Years Resolutions:

  1. Always appreciate Wifi.
  2. Try not to sweat over what people think about you (here’s a secret- it doesn’t affect your life at all, and you aren’t ever going to get everyone’s approval).
  3. Stop comparing your life to everyone else’s (the grass may seem greener, but I can almost guarantee you that they are looking at your grass and thinking the same thing).
  4. Always try to appreciate where someone might be coming from (trying to understand someone’s actions is always more beneficial, and less stressful, than complaining about them).
  5. Instead of getting worked up about something, take a minute and decide if it’s really worth it (it probably isn’t).
  6. Never stop appreciating your friends and family.
  7. Always soak up your time with your pets.
  8. Try and see yourself through your loved ones eyes.
  9. Finally, never ever lose your child-like love of life.
Leave a Reply

