“I might only have one match, but I can make an explosion” – Rachel Patten (Fight Song)

It is so easy to become disheartened and to start doubting yourself when the many, many, many applications you send out, come up short. But hearing this song I was reminded that I have to stay positive and remember what my younger self, dancing around the kitchen wanted for me, she wanted to change the world. It seems so important to remember that, not just because I want to do a job that has meaning and will make people’s lives a little brighter*, but because that little girl really believed that even though she was one person, she could save the world. I am reminded of another quote from A Midsummer Night’s Dream, “Though she be but little, she is fierce.” And so as I continue to search, I keep in mind that feeling I used to have about myself, one which I am trying to not allow to be squished out. I can accomplish anything and I will not lose sight of my goal. I might only have one match, but we all have to start somewhere.

*I am a firm believer that fiction is a massively underrated tool. What a book can become and how influential it can be is insane; an author can have the power to change how a person views their whole existence, and that is massive!

Leave a Reply

