“Nothing is so painful to the human mind as a great and sudden change.” — Mary Shelley (Frankenstein )

I read Mary Shelley’s book about a year ago, in a University module which was filled with more laughter than learning, so when I came across this quote, it did not surprise me that it had never registered on my radar. One of the beautiful things about brilliant books is that no matter how many times you read them, you will find something different each time. Usually, what jumps out at you depends solely on where you are, where your life is going, how you are feeling. So this quote jumped out at me today. It has been a few months now since I finished University. It definitely feels strange to know I am never going back there, but I think what feels weirder is that suddenly I have no definite future. I know I want to go into publishing but I have no idea how I’m going to get there or what my life will be like when I do. Up until now my life has pretty much been mapped out, but right now I have a vague ‘X’ and nothing else. I’m feeling like my life is going nowhere and at the same time like I’m waiting on the precipices of a great and sudden change.

And it is scary.

And it has definitely affected me more then I realised.

But it has motivated me too, motivated me to write this, and motivated me to keep searching so that my ‘X’ can become a bit clearer.

One thought on ““Nothing is so painful to the human mind as a great and sudden change.” — Mary Shelley (Frankenstein )

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 09/29/15 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

